Decide Between Seagate Exos and IronWolf Pro
Same maker, similar ratings on current models, different extras and prices
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability come from Amazon.com as of the last update and may change.
On Seagate's own documents, a current IronWolf Pro and an Exos are close. Every Exos data sheet we read gives 2.5 million hours MTBF and a 5-year limited warranty, and NT-series IronWolf Pro models above 10TB get the same. What the Exos data sheets do not state is a workload rate or a supported bay count; IronWolf Pro data sheets state both. IronWolf Pro adds Rescue data recovery and NAS health reporting. Exos is usually the cheaper per terabyte, which is the reason to buy it.
What Seagate's documents state for each
| Exos | IronWolf Pro, NT series | IronWolf Pro, NE series | |
|---|---|---|---|
| MTBF | 2.5 million hours | 2.5 million hours (2 million at 10TB and below) | 1.2 million hours |
| Limited warranty | 5 years | 5 years | 5 years |
| Workload rate in the data sheet | Not stated | 550TB a year | 300TB a year |
| Workload rate elsewhere | Under 550TB a year in the Exos X24 product manual, for its 12TB, 16TB, 20TB, 24TB models | Same as the data sheet | Same as the data sheet |
| Bays supported | Not stated | Unlimited | Up to 24 bays or Up to 16 bays |
| Rescue data recovery | Not in the data sheets | 3 years, where available | 3 years, where available |
| Largest capacity in the data sheets | 32TB | 32TB | 20TB |
Where the figures come from
Seagate's data sheets for Exos X16, Exos X18, Exos X24 and the current Exos line, its IronWolf Pro data sheets, and the Exos X24 SATA product manual, read on October 12, 2026. Seagate's current Exos portfolio data sheet could not be read as text, so the models that appear only in it are not in our table.
Checked on October 12, 2026. Sources: Seagate Exos data sheet DS2045.4-2511; Seagate Exos data sheet DS2080-2307; Seagate Exos X24 SATA Product Manual, publication 205194300, Rev. A; Seagate Exos data sheet DS2045.4-2106; Seagate Exos data sheet DS2011.1-1904; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS2129.7-2510; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS2129.4-2311; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS2129.5-2404; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS16.1-2501; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS1914.21-2206; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS1914.6-1708; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS1914.5-1703; Seagate IronWolf Pro data sheet DS1914.7-1807.
What you give up with Exos
Two things that Seagate's IronWolf Pro data sheets list and its Exos data sheets do not: the Rescue data recovery service, and IronWolf Health Management, which reports drive health to supporting NAS systems. Neither changes how the drive stores data.
Exos is sold with SATA and with SAS interfaces. A desktop NAS needs SATA, so check the interface in the listing before buying. Seagate also publishes no NAS bay-count guidance for Exos, because it is specified for data-centre systems.
Which to buy
Exos
- It is cheaper per terabyte on the day
- You do not need a bundled recovery service
- The NAS sits where noise does not matter
IronWolf Pro (NT series)
- You want Rescue data recovery included
- You want health reporting in the NAS interface
- You want a stated NAS workload rate and bay count
Seagate Exos, by price per TB
Seagate IronWolf Pro, by price per TB
Renewed, refurbished and used listings
Shown for reference. These are not counted in the best price per TB above, and warranty terms differ from new drives.
Frequently asked questions
Does Seagate publish a workload rate for Exos?
Not in the Exos data sheets we read. The Exos X24 SATA product manual gives a maximum rated workload of under 550TB a year for the models it covers (12TB, 16TB, 20TB, 24TB).
Is the Exos warranty shorter than IronWolf Pro's?
No. Seagate's data sheets give a 5-year limited warranty for both.
Does Exos include Rescue data recovery?
Seagate's Exos data sheets do not list it. Its IronWolf Pro data sheets list three years, where the service is available.