TerabyteWise
Updated · Specifications verified October 12, 2026

Find the Cheapest 26TB NAS Drive Today

Two models confirmed as CMR by their maker at 26TB, both Western Digital

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Prices and availability come from Amazon.com as of the last update and may change.

Quick answer

Two 26TB drives are confirmed as CMR by their maker, both Western Digital: the WD Red Pro WD260KFGX and the Ultrastar DC HC590. A third, the WD Gold WD261KRYZ, has a WD brief that gives its ratings but does not name a recording type, so it is listed in the reference section only. Each of the three carries a 2.5 million hour MTBF and a five-year limited warranty, with a workload rating of 550TB a year. Before buying, check the bay limit: of the NAS brands recorded on this site, TerraMaster and UGREEN quote 26TB or more per bay on at least one model, while QNAP (24TB), Asustor (18TB) and Synology (24TB) stop short of it.

As of October 12, 2026
Best price per TB
$47.73
In-stock listings in the tables on this page
1
Prices updated
3 hours ago

The 26TB models, from Western Digital's datasheets

WD Red ProWD GoldUltrastar DC HC590
Model numberWD260KFGXWD261KRYZWUH722626AL (SATA and SAS versions)
RecordingCMRNot stated in the brief; OptiNAND and ArmorCache listedCMR, with ePMR
Workload rating550TB a yearUp to 550TB a year550TB a year
MTBF2,500,000 hours2,500,000 hours2.5 million hours
Annualized failure rateNot stated0.35%0.35%
Limited warranty5 years5 years5 years
Sustained transfer rate287MB/s285MB/s302MB/s
PowerSee WD's datasheet6.7W operational, 5.6W idle8.4W random read and write, 5.6W idle (SATA)
NoiseSee WD's datasheetSee WD's brief3.2 Bels operating, 2.5 Bels idle
Built asHelium, 7200 RPM, 512MB cache, RV sensorsHelium, 7200 RPM, 512MB cacheHelium, 7200 RPM, 512MB buffer

Which NAS bays accept a 26TB drive

BrandModels recordedLargest drive the maker quotesModels that take 26TB
TerraMaster430TB4 of 4
UGREEN832TB8 of 8
QNAP624TB0 of 3 (3 with no figure)
Asustor218TB0 of 2
Synology1024TB0 of 10

What 26TB drives hold, by layout

DrivesProtectionRawUsable
TwoMirror52TB26TB
FourOne drive104TB78TB
FourTwo drives104TB52TB
SixTwo drives156TB104TB
EightTwo drives208TB156TB

Reading the three against each other

The ratings that usually separate drive lines do not separate these: workload, MTBF and warranty are the same on all three datasheets. What differs is the product they are sold as. The Red Pro is WD's NAS line and its datasheet states CMR and rotational-vibration sensors. The Gold and the Ultrastar are enterprise lines; the HC590 datasheet states CMR and gives the highest sustained transfer rate of the three.

So at 26TB the table is close to a pure price comparison between the two confirmed models, provided your NAS accepts the size.

From 22TB up, this site treats a drive as CMR only when a document from its maker says so. The WD Gold brief does not, and the model numbers on the 26TB Seagate Exos listings we track are in no Seagate datasheet we could read. Those listings are kept out of the table above and shown in the reference section, each with a badge naming the maker.

Where the figures come from

Western Digital's WD Red Pro data sheet, WD Gold product brief and Ultrastar DC HC590 data sheet, read on October 12, 2026. NAS bay limits are each maker's own figure, from the specification pages recorded on this site. Usable capacity is drives minus protection, times 26TB, in decimal terabytes.

Checked on October 12, 2026. Sources: Western Digital: WD Red Pro NAS hard drive data sheet; Western Digital: WD Gold enterprise class SATA HDD product brief; Western Digital: Ultrastar DC HC590 data sheet.

26TB NAS drives, by price per TB

26TB drives whose maker states CMR in a document of its own. A listing with no such record, the WD Gold and the 26TB Seagate Exos among them, appears only in the reference section under the table, labelled.

Price per
1 products
ProductCapacityPrice$ / TBTypePrimeBuy
Western Digital 26TB WD Red Pro NAS Internal Hard Drive HDD - 7200 RPM, SATA 6 Gb/s, CMR, 512 MB Cache, 3.5" - WD260KFGX26 TB$1,240.99$47.73NAS HDD · SATACMR-Buy on Amazon

Renewed, refurbished and used listings

Shown for reference. These are not counted in the best price per TB above, and warranty terms differ from new drives.

Price per
7 products
ProductCapacityPrice$ / TBTypePrimeBuy
MDD (MDD26TSATA51272E) 26TB 7200RPM 512MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5inch Internal Enterprise Hard Drive - 5 Years Warranty (Renewed)Renewed26 TB$789.99$30.38Enterprise HDD · SATARecording type not confirmed by MDDNASEnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Seagate Exos 26TB Internal Hard Drive HDD - 3.5 in CMR SATA 6Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 512MB Cache, 2.5M MTBF (ST26000NM000C) (Renewed)Renewed26 TB$809.99$31.15Enterprise HDD · SATARecording type not confirmed by SeagateNASEnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Seagate Exos ST26000NM001C 26TB 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 512e 3.5in Enterprise Hard Drive (Renewed)Renewed26 TB$819.99$31.54Enterprise HDD · SATARecording type not confirmed by SeagateNASEnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Seagate (Recertified Exos 26TB Internal Hard Drive HDD - 3.5 in CMR SATA 6Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 512MB Cache, 2.5M MTBF (ST26000NM000C) , RenewedRenewed26 TB$859.99$33.08Enterprise HDD · SATARecording type not confirmed by SeagateNASEnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC590 WUH722626ALE6L4 0F65672 26TB 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 512e 512MB Cache 3.5in Enterprise Hard Drive (Renewed)Renewed26 TB$899.00$34.58Enterprise HDD · SATACMREnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Western Digital Ultrastar DC HC590 WUH722626ALE601 0F65685 26TB 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 512e 512MB Cache Power Disable 3.5in Enterprise Hard Drive (Renewed)Renewed26 TB$899.00$34.58Enterprise HDD · SATACMREnterprise-Buy on Amazon
Western Digital 26TB WD Gold Enterprise Class SATA Internal Hard Drive HDD - 7200 RPM, SATA 6 Gb/s, 512 MB Cache, 3.5" - WD261KRYZSold by Amazon26 TB$1,240.99$47.73Enterprise HDD · SATARecording type not confirmed by Western DigitalNASEnterprisePrimeBuy on Amazon

Frequently asked questions

Which 26TB drives are CMR?

The WD Red Pro WD260KFGX and the Ultrastar DC HC590 are stated as CMR on Western Digital's datasheets. The WD Gold brief does not name a recording type, and no Seagate datasheet we could read lists the 26TB Exos model numbers on sale, so neither is treated as confirmed.

Which NAS takes a 26TB drive?

Of the brands recorded here, TerraMaster and UGREEN quote 26TB or more per bay on at least one model. QNAP (24TB), Asustor (18TB) and Synology (24TB) quote less. Check your exact model's page.

How much usable space do four 26TB drives give?

78TB with one drive of protection, 52TB with two, from 104TB raw.